The Rise and Failure of David in 1 and 2 Samuel

David’s Rise (1 Samuel 16–2 Samuel 10) David’s Failures (2 Samuel 11–20)
Eager holy warrior Remains in palace
Marries honorably Adultery with Bathsheba
Protects Saul’s life Plots Uriah’s death
Decisive Indecisive
Prayers effective Prayers ineffective
Fearless when outnumbered Fearfully takes census
Attracts thousands of followers Loses thousands of followers